Jon Hassell

flash of the spirit

Flash of the Spirit

Jon Hassell/Farafina

Capitol/Intuition CDP 7 91186 2

EMI-Intuition IC 066 7 91186-1

1988 • 51:47


1  Flash of the Spirit 5:45

2  Night Moves (Fear) 2:23

3  Air Afrique (Wind) 3:58

4  Out Pours (Kongo) Blue (Prayer) 7:13

5  Kaboo (Play) 2:54

6  (Lide) Warriors Everywhere (Courage) 4:42

7  Dreamworld (Dance) 4:52

8  Tales of the Near Future (Clairvoyance) 4:18

9  Vampire Dances (Symmetry) 4:00

10  Masque (Strength) 11:42


Jon Hassell—trumpet, keyboards

Soungalo Coulibaly—flute, percussion

Baba Diarra—percussion, balafon

Tiawara Keira—drums

Mahama Konaté—balafon

Tiawara Nei-ta—drums

Ben Palm—drums

Seydou Quattara—drums

Souleyname Sanou—percussion

Paco Ye—drums, djembe

Mahama Konté—balafon

Dan Schwartz—bass


Produced by Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois

and Jon Hassell

atmospherics: stories in words and pictures


 b i o g r a p h y 

 p r e s s 

 a r t i c l e s 

 d i s c o g r a p h y 

 c o n c e r t s 

 s t a g e 

 l i n k s 

Cover art by

Dennis Keeley, photographed by

Debra du Poalo

Design by Ph.D